CSGO Ranking patents: how do they work?

Here is everything you need to know about ranked

Whether you're swimming with silvers or gliding with global elites, the CSGO ranking system is a great way to assess your ability to form competitive matches. The rank is vast and every player's dream is to reach the top or, at least, be among the best. The journey is long, learning is gradual, but understanding the CSGO ranking system will help you a lot on this journey.

The CSGO ranking ranges from noobs to the elite. But no matter how high or low your ranking is, investing time to improve and improve the game will lead you to a more profitable experience. Your dedication and willpower will already be a good start, moving up from step to step, rank to rank, reaching the eternal glory of the competitive Counter-Strike. Read our post, share with those noobs friends and leave your patent in the comments. Come on?

Ranking csgo
What is your csgo ranking? (image via valve)

How do I get a CSGO ranking?

If you are new in Counter-Strike, you may need to take some time to earn your stripes.

The tier system ranges from 1 to 40 and is used only as a reward system for receiving drops of skins and service medals. After playing enough, these medals change color every 40 times you qualify in a given year - like the prestige in Call of Duty.

To unlock the competitive queue, you must first reach level two by playing any of the game modes created by Valve: Casual, Weapon racing, Demolition, Danger Zone and Deathmatch. Reaching level two will grant you access to the queue, where the best of CSGO can be found.

Your CSGO ranking will not be displayed until you have won 10 competitive matches. You will be placed in mixed games with players of various categories, but players are generally initiated in the lower tiers up to at least half of their placement progress.

Since you are playing with a new account, you will be restricted to two competitive wins per day until you reach your tenth. Valve added this system to combat the use of smurfing by top players. Assuming you manage to achieve two victories per day, your ranking should be given to you on the fifth day of the game. When you win 10 competitive matches, your skill group will finally appear.

After earning your stripes, your CSGO ranking will be displayed below your username on the home screen and to the right of your username on the match leaderboards. You can only see your teammates' ratings if you are partying with them.

What are the rankings?

Ranking csgo
Ranking csgo (image via valve)

Valve's player hierarchy consists of 18 ratings, with each rank more skillful than the last. The classification is in the following order, from top to bottom:

The global eliteGE
Supreme Master First Class (SMFC)SMFC
Legendary Eagle MasterLEM
Legendary eagle LE
Distinguished Master GuardianDMG
Master guardian eliteMGE
Master guardian iiMG2
Master guardian iMG
Gold nova masterGNM
Gold nova iiiGN3
Gold nova iiGN2
Gold nova iGN1
Silver ivS4
Silver IIIS3
Silver iiS2
Silver iS1

What does my CSGO ranking mean?

Players classify queues into levels. Generally, players exhibit the same behaviors as other players in their queues, with a few exceptions. For example, “MGs” tend to be familiar with the economic system in the first four rounds, which means that minimal team communication is required.

“Silverware” is at the bottom of the food chain. It is the classification in which players are completely beginners and there is little or no strategy involved in the game. This rating range is where smurfs (highest ranking players in alternative accounts) are commonly found. Escaping the Silver division is particularly challenging for younger players because of that.

"Golds" stay in the middle of the bell curve as they begin to learn more and more about the game, such as economics, spray patterns, smoke and pop flashes. Gold's top rankings act as the real checkpoint for being above average. Players who "aim and have no brains" are most commonly found in Gold, which means that they can aim their weapons and kill enemies, but do not have the sense of game to improve.

Players with “Master Guardian” in their rank are generally more advanced. They are already aware of sprays, economic buying trends, useful execution and resumption coordination. Moving anywhere other than MG requires honing your skills, learning from your mistakes, and making incremental changes to your playing style for improvement.

Anything above DMG (LE to GE) is where the Counter-Strike elite resides. These guys are very, very good at finding ways to kill you.

How do I rank?

Improving your CSGO ranking is very rudimentary: if you win enough games, you qualify. Losing games will bring you down.

CS: GO follows a modified Glicko-2 classification system, according to Valve. This algorithm assesses a player's skill set based on his influence on the round and whether his team wins the round. Factors such as kills, deaths, MVPs, assists, damage done and bomb plants all affect a hidden numerical value that determines your position within a classification.

A general model in the game to follow would be to play to win the round and not to kill. The amount of deaths you do does not matter so much if your team is consistently losing. These deaths only play a long-term role in preventing you from falling.

How do you efficiently rank?

The best way to move up the ranking in a short period of time is to play with players who share the same goal. Players who line up with other serious players are more likely to win more rounds and even the match than five players who are in the solo line. The best way to find other serious players is to make friends with other passionate players on the community servers or on third party websites.

If you are serious about your ranking, try to avoid the solo queue. You run the risk of encountering griefers (players who intentionally lose the match) or players who don't care if you win. The queue solo is associated with unraveling due to the variable competitiveness of the players.

Think carefully

Your CSGO ranking is not everything. It's just an arbitrary name that defines how other players see you. If you focus on becoming better at Counter-Strike instead of winning, the ranking becomes perfect.


Prime helps to avoid aimbotters and wallhackers who thrive on their misery. If you have Prime, you will join the queue with other Prime users.

There is no exact chance that you will encounter a cheater again, but this will help to drastically reduce the rate of encounters with them. Enabling Prime requires a level 21 account, which means that you will have to go through the long and arduous leveling process or pay for Prime status.

Prime also gives you exclusive Prime souvenir items, discarded items, gun cases and access to all Community operated servers.

If you want to use Prime, it must be activated automatically as soon as you reach the acquired level or if you purchase the upgrade. If you have been playing CS: GO for some time, there is a chance that you will have to choose Prime yourself. You can do this by pressing "Play" in the upper left corner of the screen and then selecting the green currency. When you're there, just click to enable Prime.

Avatar of denner perazzo

Journalist, 26 years old. Passionate about what I do and what I write about.

This site uses cookies, as explained in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to browse, you agree to the conditions.
This site uses cookies, as explained in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to browse, you agree to the conditions.